3 Concealed-Carry Myths Debunked

Home Forums Security & Defense Tactical Strategies 3 Concealed-Carry Myths Debunked

This topic contains 7 replies, has 5 voices, and was last updated by  namelus 4 months, 3 weeks ago.

• Author

Crow Bar
    Keymaster

https://www.shootingillustrated.com/articles/2019/4/26/3-concealed-carry-myths-debunked/

FYI.
    As always, get training from a certified instructor.

But there is one thing that I see a lot on prepper forums. Say SHTF. Why bother concealing?

Whirlibird
    Participant

Why conceal post-SHTF?

So you don’t get popped as a threat by some of these preppers who are practically drooling over the chance to plug someone, their fantasies come to life.

Training, as a certified instructor, I certainly recommend it. Unfortunately too many instructors teach stuff that will get you killed or sued.

Avoid the schools/classes that teach ‘team’ tactics rather than individual. How a “SEAL” does things is different than you would. They are in different situations, have different rules of engagement, and different gear and resupply. You don’t.

Most of the instructors I recommend are former Law Enforcement. Not because LE is “all that and a ham sandwich ” but because LE training is generally individualistic.

Second major reason, the LE instructor doesn’t want to get sued for teaching something that is illegal.

More to follow.

Crow Bar
    Keymaster

Aside from USMC training, I have also taken two CCW classes.
    The first was some old former LEO who spent nearly the whole time talking about how cool he was.
    Put a check in the box, passed the class, got permit.

The second was by a former Army ranger who also did 5 years as VIP protection in the Green Zone in Iraq. He and his assistant were good. They put me through a series of drills outside the regular permit training.

As for carry post-SHTF, eh, I figure if the ROL is out the window, everyone will be carrying, be it handgun or rifle or both.